Join Login Search
For Electric Cooperative Members
For Electric Cooperative Members
South Plains EC News

Cooperative Update

Board members retire from South Plains Electric Cooperative after 27 years

Four members were elected to serve your Cooperative for the next three years. They are: Lloyd Arthur, David Gossett, Glenn Jones and Larry Browning.

Marvin Schoepf of Lorenzo retired, and Lloyd Arthur was elected to represent District 4 on the Cooperative Board.

Lloyd Arthur, of Ralls, graduated from Ralls High School, then attended Western Texas College and Texas Tech University. Lloyd and his wife, Angela, are still active in their farming business. He has served on several boards and committees, including Crosby County Crops for nine years, Rio Blanco SWCD for eight years, Crosby County NRCS for eight years, Cotton Incorporated for 13 years, Crosby County Farm Bureau for 13 years and Texas Farm Bureau for three years where he served as vice president. Lloyd says these experiences have given him the knowledge and education needed to serve the SPEC membership. Lloyd and Angela have four children: David, Brady, MaKayla and Jadeyn. They are members of First United Methodist Church in Ralls.

In October, Ken Harris retired from the Board of Directors. The Board appointed Brent Whitaker to complete his term that is set to expire in 2021.

Brent Whitaker, from Childress, graduated from Motley County High School and attended South Plains College. He is currently president of Texas Panhandle Construction and owner/operator of Brent Whitaker Drilling. He’s been in the construction business since 2002 and the drilling business since 2009. Brent is married to Teresa and they have two sons, Dusty and David. Dusty is married to Lindsey and David is married to Amy. Their life is filled with five grandchildren: Axle, Kolt, Rebekah, Kage and Shiloh. Brent also farms, ranches, serves as vice president of the Gateway Groundwater Conservation District and served two years with the Motley County Soil and Water Conservation District. Brent and Teresa are members of Childress Church of Christ.

Mark your calendars for August 17, 2021, for our next annual meeting. We look forward to seeing you there!

Harris and Schoepf Retire from South Plains Electric Cooperative Board of Directors

Ken Harris, of Kirkland, retired from the South Plains Electric Board of Directors after 27 years of service. He was elected by former Gate City Electric Cooperative members as a representative to the South Plains Electric Board of Directors during the merger in 2000. Ken served as president of Gate City Electric.

In addition to his Co-op service, Ken is a former director and president for Childress County Farm Bureau, past trustee for Childress ISD and past director for Childress Farmers Co-op Gin. He serves on the Cottle County Farm Service Agency committee. He and his wife, Brenda, are members of First Baptist Church in Childress.

Marvin Schoepf, of Lorenzo, retired from the South Plains Electric Board of Directors after 27 years of service. Schoepf served on the SPEC Member Services Committee before he was elected to the board in 1993.

Marvin earned his National Rural Electric Cooperative Association Credentialed Cooperative Director certification where he participated in additional training from the national and statewide associations.

In addition to his Co-op service, Marvin served 10 years with High Plains Underground Water District #1; 27 years with Pleasant Hill Co-op Gin; 10 years with Texas Pest Management representing Crosby and Floyd counties; and six years with Crosby County USDA/ASC. He and his wife, Loreeta, are members of First Baptist Church of Lorenzo.

Thank you, Ken and Marvin, for your many years of service and dedication to the members of South Plains Electric Cooperative!