Join Login Search
For Electric Cooperative Members
For Electric Cooperative Members

Members Gather For HILCO EC 2019 Annual Meeting

More than a thousand members attend this year’s meeting

More than 1,000 HILCO Electric Cooperative members came together September 26 to enjoy Naaman’s award-winning barbecue, hear about the business of their co-op, vote for two directors, listen to live music from Andrew Dolan and Jesse Jennings, and enjoy the fellowship of their community—all part of the HILCO Electric annual meeting.

This year, members voted to reelect board members Margaret Hill, District 2, and Ronald Roberts, District 3.

As members filed to their seats, laughter filled the room as Debra Cole, general manager and CEO, welcomed members with a joke, before yielding the floor to Joe Tedesco, board president, who led the group in a prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Cole recognized the hard work of the co-op’s employees and directors and the services they provide to the membership, then announced her coming retirement after 35 years at HILCO. Cole reflected on her tenure at the cooperative and presented a slideshow of photos taken through the years that included Cole with employees, co-workers, friends and family. She spoke of her career at HILCO with gratitude, thanking the members for giving her the opportunity to serve them.

“I was blessed with doing a job I loved for 35 years, and when I retire at the end of June 2020, I will truly miss my cooperative life,” she said.

Kendra Markwardt, director of marketing, spoke about HILCO’s sponsorship of the Government-in-Action Youth Tour, which sends area high school students on a trip to Washington, D.C., each summer. Markwardt introduced Kaylei Cole and Ryan Markwardt, two of HILCO’s three 2019 Youth Tour winners, who spoke about the highlights of their trip. Vanessa Alvarado also attended the trip as a HILCO delegate this year but was not present at the meeting.

Before the evening came to a close, Thomas Cheek, assistant general manager of operations, conducted a highly anticipated prize drawing; HILCO employees handed out more than 50 prizes to lucky winners.

HILCO would like to say “Thank you” to our contractors and subsidiaries for their generous contributions. The event is hosted each year by the HILCO Board of Directors—Joe Tedesco, Bill Allen, Janet Smith, Margaret Hill, Ronald Roberts, Leroy Huff and George Thiess—along with HILCO’s employees, to show appreciation to the co-op’s members. We would like to thank you all for coming out, and we look forward to seeing you all next year!