Join Login Search
For Electric Cooperative Members
For Electric Cooperative Members
Sam Houston EC News

Sam Houston EC Awards $82,500 to Local Students

Unclaimed capital credits mean scholarships for area students

Each year, Sam Houston Electric Cooperative awards scholarships to high school seniors whose parents or guardians are active consumer-members of the Cooperative. The money that funds the scholarship program comes from unclaimed capital credits that are returned to the Cooperative by the state of Texas and earmarked for scholarships.

After careful consideration of applicants’ academic achievements, activities, college plans, financial needs and personal recommendations, Sam Houston EC awarded a combined $82,500 to 31 graduating seniors. Scholarship winners may apply the funds toward tuition and fees at the Texas college or university of their choice.

Since its inception in 1992, the scholarship program has benefited more than 700 local students to the tune of more than $1 million.

$3,000 Scholarship Winners

Adrian Almazan, Shepherd
Codie Cheyanne Anderson, Tarkington
Jayde Nicole Bettes, Woodville
Virginia Ann Boyce, Onalaska
Lucchese Elizabeth Rea Burch, Shepherd
Shellby Alean Carouthers, Hull-Daisetta
Wallace Berlie Daily IV, Woodville
Gracelyn Joyce Hazelwood, West Hardin
Jaime Hernandez, Hardin
Justin Reese Holliman, Livingston
Brandon Scott Houston Jr., Livingston
Collin Elliott Kaleh, Big Sandy
Danae Kathryn Lesner, Willis
Weston Rex Mayer, Big Sandy
Mackenzie Milagros Moreno, Caney Creek
Brady Thomas Neuman, Onalaska
Izaak Kailen Ogle, Hardin-Jefferson
Vaidehi Patel, Livingston
Karris Kay Peachee, Coldspring-Oakhurst
Kayla Cecilia Raquel Ramirez, Caney Creek
Abbygail Elizabeth Smart, Kountze
Reagan Mackenzie Toole, Diboll
Morgan Tyler Henderson, New Waverly
Cole Ronald Weeks, Woodville

$1,500 Vocational Scholarship Winners

Dylan Dwayne Dickerson, Livingston
Makayla Renee Gunnels, Big Sandy
Micah Brianne Hughes, Corrigan-Camden
Chandria Daniece Ivory, Livingston
Crystal Orozco Ramos, Coldspring-Oakhurst
Christopher J. Smith Jr., Goodrich
Isaias Colby Walker, Big Sandy