Join Login Search
For Electric Cooperative Members
For Electric Cooperative Members
South Plains EC News

Your Vote. Your Voice. Your Cooperative.

2020 Local Membership Meetings in Childress and Spur have been cancelled

We regret to inform you that South Plains Electric Cooperative local membership meetings in Childress and Spur have been cancelled out of an abundance of caution during this pandemic. The Annual Meeting is scheduled for September 8 at the Lubbock Civic Center. As we approach the event, you can stay up to date through our magazine, website or Facebook page for any changes.

At South Plains Electric Cooperative, you are more than a customer, you’re a member. As a member, you have a voice in the leadership. Your vote in our annual board election is your voice in your Cooperative.

Like other electric co-ops, South Plains Electric Cooperative is guided by a locally-elected board of directors that represents its members when making important decisions. Being a member of the board is an important and highly-responsible position in the community, and directors devote considerable time to the cause of powering our communities and empowering co-op members to improve the quality of their lives.

A director’s decisions affect issues such as electric rates, utility easements and capital credits, as well as strategic, financial and work plans. The post requires savvy, selfless men and women who understand their community’s needs and work to represent the members’ best interests.

All electric co-op boards benefit from the experience and accumulated knowledge of incumbent directors, many of whom undergo substantial education on topics such as the electric industry, technology, governance, risk management, rate-setting and policy development.

The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association offers training for directors to achieve national benchmarks such as Credentialed Cooperative Director or Board Leadership Certification. Established directors provide continuity and a depth of knowledge for the Cooperative.

Our board is a democratically-elected body, with each director nominated by members of the Cooperative’s service territory and voted in to position by all members who choose to participate in the Cooperative’s open election.

Directors matter. Call (806) 775-7766 or visit to find out who represents you on the Cooperative’s board. Reach out to them with any concerns—or compliments—about your Cooperative.

2020 Nominees

District 9: Glenn Jones

District 11: Larry Browning

District 4 and 6: Nominating Committees for Districts 4 and 6 met on June 11 and the petition deadline was June 25. Any qualifying member who was nominated by the committee or entered the race by the petition deadline will be announced in the August Texas Co-op Power magazine.