Join Login Search
For Electric Cooperative Members
For Electric Cooperative Members
South Plains EC News

2018 Director Nominees Selected

Your vote. Your voice. Your cooperative.

Like other electric co-ops, South Plains Electric Cooperative is guided by an elected board of directors that represents its members when making important decisions. Being a member of the co-op’s board is an important and highly responsible position in the community, and directors volunteer considerable time and energy to the cause of powering our communities and empowering co-op members to improve the quality of their lives.

A director’s decisions affect issues such as service rates, rights-of-way and capital credits, as well as strategic, financial and work plans. The post requires savvy, selfless men and women who understand their community’s needs and work to represent the members’ best interests.

All electric co-op boards benefit from the experience and accumulated knowledge of incumbent directors, many of whom undergo substantial education on topics such as the electric industry, technology, governance, risk management, rate-setting and policy development. The national rural electric cooperative association offers training for directors to achieve national benchmarks such as credentialed cooperative director or board leadership certifications. Established directors provide continuity and a depth of knowledge for the cooperative.

Nominees will be on the ballot presented at the annual membership meeting on September 11 in Lubbock. Members will cast their ballots, and the candidate receiving the most votes will be declared the winner.

2018 Board Nominees
District 3 – Rynn Truett
District 5 – Bobby Richey
District 7 – R.D. McCallister
District 12 – Ken Harris

2018 Board Nominees
District 3: Rynn Truett
District 5: Bobby Richey
District 7: R.D. McCallister
District 12: Ken Harris